Association Annual Dinner 2019

OPA Annual Dinner 2019

The Orchard Hall OPA Dinner 2019

On Friday 26th April 2019, after fifteen years the Annual Dinner returned to the School; One hundred and nine Old Priorians and their guests dined in the Orchard Hall, a venue now vastly enhanced in every respect since we last used it 15 years ago.

LtoR: Basil Nickerson, David Sabin, Clare Nickerson, Rob Simmons, Diana Simmons

Dinner was preceded by a reception held in the Cloisters; those who wished were able to tour many of the new facilities now available at St Benedict’s – among them the Cleugh Centre (Sixth Form Centre and Art & Design Department), the new School Chapel, the Helicon Centre, the Heritage Room and the Music Department – and were able to appreciate what enormous opportunities were now available to current pupils to enhance their education.

Sixty Years 1958-2018 LtoR: Anthony Baker, Michael Clark, Aine McColgan, Luksaz Podgorski, Douglas Ashby, Richard Baker

A magnificent three course Dinner was followed by a welcome from The President, Lewis Hill (OP 1975), a “State of the School” address by the Headmaster, Andrew Johnson and a Presentation by the Dorabros, a group of four Old Priorians who in 2019 are giving a lot of their time to raise funds for the Teenage Cancer Trust by partaking in a number of inspiring, exciting and challenging activities.

The Dorabros LtoR: James Deehan, Rufus Scholefield, Charlie Crane, Lirim Gula
LtoR: Catrin Beetham, Jamalta Bediako, Oliver Lythgoe, Dicky Thomas, Alexandra Vangelatos

The evening ended back in the Cloisters with the usual “get-together” of Old Priorians – Friends, Old and New who had “come Home” after fifteen years away.

LtoR: Massimo Casali, Patrick Daly, Frank Casali, Paul Sturt, Giles Samarawikrema, Michael Gorard